LiveFit Trainer: Weeks 3 and 4

By Austin McEvoy

Phase One is complete and I am finally starting to see small, yet noticeable differences in the way my body looks and feels. I gained about one pound and lost 0.67 percent body fat.  Considering it has only been two weeks since my last report, I am very happy with these results. My muscles feel tighter and leaner. It’s exciting to see myself beginning to reach my fitness goals. I’m can’t wait for what is to come in Phase Two.

The Workouts

The workouts for part two of Phase One definitely take it up a notch.  The schedule increases from five workouts a week to six and although the number of reps decreases, the weight increases.

The program says to lift about 80 percent of your maximum lifting capacity for each exercise.  Because this is close to 100 percent, this exercise method is classified as “explosive” according to the American College of Sports Medicine.

Explosive exercises catalyze muscle growth, especially if the exercises are performed dynamically, meaning the muscle group is targeted from multiple angles.  The LiveFit Trainer does just that and I am seeing the results firsthand.

I did have to supplement the abdominal workout again.  Eason explains the reason the ab workouts are so light at the beginning of week three of the program.

Nutrition is the key to in the pursuit to visible abs, according to Eason (and many others for that matter).  She goes on to say that for those who cannot yet see their abs, that twisting motions may cause you to develop a straight up and down body.

Because I am doing this program for strength and not aesthetics, I decided to continue to supplement her ab workouts.  I am also already beginning to see the outline of my abs so I am not worried about losing my curves and developing a masculine figure. I definitely do not want to lose the strength and definition that I have already built up.

How I supplemented the Ab workout

  • Decline sit-up with medicine ball throw to partner (10 pounds): 20 reps, 3 sets
  • Leg raises with ankle weights ( 2.5 pounds on each leg): 15 reps, 3 sets
  • Side-to-side oblique twist with medicine ball (8 pounds): 20 reps, 3 sets
  • Incline side bend with weigh (12.5 pounds): 10 reps, 3 sets

The Meal Plan

The meal plan does not change for part two of Phase One. To be honest, the most challenging part of the meal plan isn’t the plan itself, but having to explain to people why I changed my eating habits. Whenever I turned down unhealthy food I got this line;

“What are you on a diet or something?”

I am sure fellow fitness junkies have also experienced this guilt trip we ride whenever someone makes a judgmental comment.  So what if I order a salad for dinner instead of a burger, if I say no to a second glass of wine, or if I end the night early so that I can be in the gym by 6 a.m. the next day? I don’t think that I am obsessive, but it’s how people make me feel sometimes. I have to remind myself that I have a goal and that it will take sacrifices to get there.

Current Stats

  • Height: 5’5
  • Weight: 117.8 lbs
  • Body Fat: 16.03%
  • BMI: 19.6

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

