LiveFit Trainer: Week Two Progress Report

By Austin McEvoy

Well, I survived the first two weeks of Phase One of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer.  Although it is too early to see any changes in the way my body looks, I do already feel stronger, especially in my upper body. I look forward to further balancing my strength in the weeks to come.

The Workouts

Like a lot of women, my upper body is much weaker than my lower body.  The upper body workouts were challenging, but I found myself having to supplement the lower body workouts with my own exercises. This may be because of my fitness background which includes years of soccer, dance, and running.

How I supplemented the Ab workout:

  • Standing dumbbell side bend (15 pounds): 12 reps, 3 sets
  • Plank: 1 minute 20 seconds, 3 sets
  • Pike roll out on fitness ball: 12 reps, 3 sets

How I supplemented the Leg Workout:

  • Side leg raises with ankle weights (2.5 pounds): 12 reps, 3 sets
  • Single leg dead lift (10 lbs): 12 reps, 3 sets
  • Hip raise with straight leg extension: 12 reps, 3 sets

As a runner, the hardest part about the first two weeks has been not being allowed to do ANY cardio. It seems counterintuitive to omit cardio from a fat-cutting/muscle gaining program, but the science behind the method adds up.

Long cardio sessions may burn a ton of calories, but they also break down muscle mass. Weight lifting, on the other hand, builds more muscle mass than it breaks down.  The more muscle mass in your body, the more calories you will burn on a daily basis, even when you are resting. {Source}

Although I have been craving a good run, I am going to trust the program and wait patiently until Phase 2 before I add cardio back into my workout.

The Meal Plan

Before starting the meal plan, my diet was already “clean.”  About 80 percent of my kitchen is filled with non-processed foods.  I did, however, realize that I was not eating enough protein.

Strength athletes need more protein in their diets compared to non-active individuals according to a study by the Applied Physiology Research Laboratory of Kent State University. For this reason, the meal plan encourages women to eat about 160 grams of protein a day.

Since protein from animal meat is typically high in saturated fat, I tried to incorporate alternative sources of protein.  My go-to items so far have been Greek yogurt, chocolate soy protein shakes, and nuts.

Along with not eating enough protein, I also noticed I was not eating as frequently as I should be.  The program requires you to eat every two to three hours.  This includes three large meals and three small meals. Having a busy schedule makes it hard to cook on a daily basis. I overcame this barrier by having a meal preparation day and having a stash of healthy, portable snacks for when I was on the go.

The program also encourages the uses of safe supplementation.  These are the supplements I am taking to improve my performance though out the program.

  • Fish Oil (for joint health)
  • Branched Chain Amino Acids (for muscle recovery)
  • Biotin (for metabolism support)
  • Soy Protein Powder (for muscle recovery)
  • CLA (for muscle growth and metabolism support)

Current Body Stats

Height: 5’5

Weight: 117

Body Fat Percentage: 16.7%

BMI: 19.5

Week Two Progress Picture:

austin livefit

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

