Healthy Training Series: Introduction

By Austin McEvoy

In the recent past a skinny woman was an attractive woman. Society said that muscles were too masculine. While this mentality still exists, it is slowly being replaced with another philosophy. “Strong is the new skinny” is popping up all over the place.

It’s about time that women can be strong AND sexy.

In tribute to society’s change of heart, I decided that I wanted to take my fitness goals into my own hands and get stronger, too. That’s why I am starting bodybuilder Jamie Eason’s 12 week LiveFit training program. The free program is bodybuilding.com’s most popular training plan.

The program is different from others because it encourages weight gain, not loss. Yes, you heard that right. The goal of the program is to gain muscle. Because muscle is denser than fat, you will gain weight as you increase your lean mass.

To set the record straight, I have no desire to turn into the female version of the hulk. A common misconception regarding women lifting weights is that they will immediately bulk up. However, this myth has been proven wrong time and time again.

On the contrary, weight lifting has been proven to increase lean muscle mass, which in turn makes women look more toned according to a 1997 study by Philip Chilibeck. Chilibeck’s findings have been validated by other scientists many times since the article’s initial publication.

As a disclaimer, I am already a very active person.  I run, dance, do martial arts, and even lift weights from time to time. For this reason, I do not plan on posting a picture of myself in my old, oversized jeans at the end of the 3 month program. I do, however, expect to gain lean muscle mass and a visible increase in muscle tone. My goal is to gain two and a half pounds of muscle and to reduce my body fat percentage by at least two percent.

Tags: ,

Categories: Your Fitness

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

