GFGL RECIPE BLOG: Spectacular Spaghetti Squash

By: ALEXIS BLANDINE

I am probably one of the biggest fans of salads-partly because I enjoy them, and partly because I feel like I am doing my body some good by getting a filling meal out of lots of vegetables. If you’re one of those people that wants to get more vegetables, but can’t eat spinach for breakfast, lunch, and dinner-this next item might be just what you’ve been looking for. Spaghetti Squash.

It is the vegetable in camouflage that can be substituted in almost any spaghetti dish. Additionally, 1 cup of spaghetti squash has less than 50 calories, compared to a cup of pasta which is around 200 calories. If that calorie kicker wasn’t enough, it counts as one serving of vegetables, has tons of beta carotene, Vitamin C, no fat (unseasoned), Vitamin B6, and about 2 grams of fiber. Plus, it is the biggest food “trick” to cut calories.

Spectacular Spaghetti Squash

1 Spaghetti Squash, rinsed and dried
~3 T olive oil
2 tsp salt
1 ½ T garlic powder
pepper to taste

1. Heat oven to 350F.
2. Stick on a baking sheet in the oven for 10 minutes to soften the outside, and then cut lengthwise down the middle. Scoop out the seeds* and “stringy stuff” in the center as you would a pumpkin and season with drizzled olive oil, salt, garlic powder, and pepper.
3. Roast for about an hour or until squash can be separated and pulled away to a spaghetti consistency with a fork. Rake up all the squash and season with some parmesan cheese, or coat with a sauce like tomato or alfredo.

**seeds can be roasted and seasoned similarly to pumpkin seeds
I also tried seasoning with brown sugar and cinnamon; personally I didn’t care for the sweetness in a spaghetti form-it was too much foreign material for my taste buds to handle. I usually put vodka sauce on it because it gives me the comfort of eating pasta-however I’m sure I’ll experiment more the next time I make it. I encourage you to do the same-ENJOY!

Sealed with a kiss of Nutella,

Alexis

Tags: ,

Categories: GFGL Recipe Blog, Home, Sections

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “GFGL RECIPE BLOG: Spectacular Spaghetti Squash”

  1. November 15, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I love spaghetti squash too! I recently made it with spicy sausage and organic marinara sauce. Delicious and super easy!

Leave a comment!

