GFGL RECIPE BLOG: Blackberry Raspberry Oatmeal

By: ALEXIS BLANDINE

I would venture to say I’m a social person, and it should be a well-known fact by now that I could talk any culinary venture till I’m blue in the face. So I looked to my fellow writers at GFGL for some new recipes they’re whipping up, that I could add to my repertoire, as well as my stomach. Being so, Sarah Davis was so generous as to share this delicious muffin recipe that I was so enticed by, I was forced to make it!

Baked Raspberry + Blackberry Oatmeal

  • 2 cups of old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup of quick oats
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon Baking powder
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup + 1/4 cup of honey (combined)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 handfuls of sliced almonds (save some for decorating)
  • 1 large container of raspberries
  • 1 regular container of blackberries
  • 1 cup of milk (2%)
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Combine all dry ingredients in one bowl (berries included) and all wet ingredients in another— then pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix together. Pour into sprayed muffin racks (no holders) and decorate the top with sliced almonds. I baked on 375 for 30 minutes and they were perfect! Let them cool for 20 minutes then take them out and eat!! (Eating with warm milk make them AMAZING). Enjoy!

Seeing as I did not have the berries called for in the recipe, nor did I have the patience to wait until I purchased them- I improvised by using frozen blueberries and strawberries that I picked with my mom earlier this summer. I will definitely be making this recipe again as called for, but the little tweak I made in the name of hunger didn’t come out too bad either. I’d suspect just about any seasonal berry would be a great addition to this muffin. As you can see, Sarah’s photo is absolutely mouthwatering. I showed hers because in my haste, I let appearance sit on the backburner at the expense of the delicious taste. Thanks again, Sarah!!

Sealed with a kiss of Nutella,

Alexis

Tags: ,

Categories: GFGL Recipe Blog, Home, Sections

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

