GFGL RECIPE BLOG: Toss in a Tomato

By: ALEXIS BLANDINE

So, I will preface this by saying that after this summer, I will have consumed the adequate amount of lycopene and vitamin C for the rest of my entire life-courtesy of my mother’s tomato garden. I can’t cook anything else when I have these big, luscious, fire engine red tomatoes staring me in the face. Being so, I wanted to share a little recipe I threw together that is a great summer side dish, and can be the lazy man’s treasure to making a delicious margarita pizza. Don’t worry, I don’t judge if solely for the fact that if I was in that predicament of pizza puzzlement, I wouldn’t hesitate to toss this delicious tomato salad on some doughy vessel and pop it in the oven.

Toss in a ‘Tomato’ Salad

  • 6 large beefsteak tomatoes
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 10 fresh basil leaves, julienned
  • 8 oz parts skim mozzarella cheese, cut in small cubes
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 3 T red wine vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Combine oil and vinegar in a bowl and toss over the remaining ingredients. For best results, let it sit in the fridge for about a half hour before serving. Be sure to put the salt in last, you may want to remove the pulp from the tomatoes as well but that is up to preference.
One of the easiest recipes to throw together that immediately adds that fresh summer flavor to any meal.

What’s your favorite way to use tomatoes?

Sealed with a kiss of Nutella,

Alexis

Photo Source

Tags: ,

Categories: GFGL Recipe Blog, Home, Sections

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

