GFGL FIT BLOG: Sweating it Up in July – Happy Fourth!

July may be my favorite month. You have to love a time when getting really, really sweaty can feel like the only accomplishment you need for the day. While I’m not in “active” training for my next race just yet, I am still trying to stay moving and maintain the fitness level I got to in the past few months. I know it’s probably not the best idea, but I really love going out running during midday in the summer, especially in the Midwest where it gets really humid and hazy. It’s kind of a weird masochistic thing, but it makes me feel like I’m working hard. Before anyone gets upset I do remember to stay very, very hydrated during these ill-advised sessions. I’ve been clocking about 25 or so miles a week lately, which I would like to increase, whether I sign up for another marathon or not, but I don’t think the hottest month of year is the best time to try and do that so I’m sort of just working on maintaining my fitness level. There are a lot of marathons going on in early fall/late summer and I’m still debating on which one I want to do. I’m also getting pretty curious to try one of the very popular adventure races- running up a ski hill seems like a good challenge.

I have been able to get back into some of my old fitness routines because I don’t spend all of my time running, thinking about running, writing about running, talking about running (which I kind of miss doing, actually). My mom is total yoga lady and has a ton of DVDs to choose from. It is hard to find a good practice when you do these, but there are a few good ones in her collection. One is called “Yoga Fire” and is an hour of bicep burning, tummy toning wonderful-ness. I like a yoga practice that keeps you super engaged (as  opposed to the really slow relaxing kind) and this one definitely gets a sweat going. I love the combination of running and yoga and I’m excited to get back into that kind of routine again.

I am still trying (trying is the important part here) to do a vegan type diet. I’m pretty good at this, like, 80 percent of the time, but there are just those awesome summer things you cannot pass up. There was a bacon-wrapped hotdog incident a few weeks ago while camping as well as some impromptu ice cream times I totally didn’t feel bad about. My roommates (O.K., parents- don’t make fun) also have a serious love of Papa John’s pizza and who could just leave it there all by itself? Below is the very flexible definition of veganism according to Wikipedia, if anyone is interested. I’ve always been interested in the practice, but never made a serious attempt at it before. Hopefully I can develop some stronger will power for the future.

…the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products. Ethical vegans reject the commodity status of animals and the use of animal products for any purpose, while dietary vegans (or strict vegetarians) eliminate them from their diet only. Another form, environmental veganism, rejects the use of animal products on the premise that the industrial practice is environmentally damaging and unsustainable.

Photo Source

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

