GFGL FOOD BLOG: Keeping Cool in Boston

Hi guys!

So I don’t know about you all, but here in Boston, the last few days have been brutal with the heat. I guess the timings perfect since it’s officially the start of summer 2012 woohoo! Since it has been so hot, I thought it would be a good idea to share with you my recipe for the perfect blended coffee drink that I make at home everyday as a way to save money and indulge guiltlessly. Ok, so maybe I still buy iced coffee when I’m out, I have a slight addiction, but there is good news! This recipe that I found while surfing the web is fantastic! I’ve tried to make frozen coffee drinks at home before, and let’s be serious, they were repulsive and I always caved and headed to DD or Starbucks afterwards. BUT this one is no joke people. I love it and hopefully some of you will too!

 Ingredients: 1 cup milk (fat free but if you can’t handle that then at least use one or two percent) 1 serving of instant coffee 1 packet of fat free/sugar free swiss miss (although sometimes this can be hard to find so lately i’ve been using light hershey syrup instead) 1 cup cubed ice Prep: Now I use the magic bullet, which has proven to be God’s gift to earth for me, but any blender will do! 1. combine milk, coffee and swiss miss or syrup and blend until smooth 2. add the ice and blend until cubes are well blended 3. poor and enjoy OR if you are a bullet fan, grab a straw and enjoy right out of the cup!

Now my sister said that it was too bland for her so you may need to play around with it, maybe add some more syrup or splenda until you get the flavor you want. Don’t be afraid to try out different things but this is just what hits the spot for me. Now let me recap you on dinner last night: I decided to make a nice cool pasta garbage salad, using produce from the fridge that was probably going to go bad if I didn’t.

I cooked some whole grain pasta and threw in some corn, celery, onions and tomatoes with 1/2 cup of FF Italian dressing. After letting it cool in the fridge for a while, it was delicious! And the best news, there is plenty left over, actually I had some for lunch today! So refreshing on a hot day and not too heavy either.
Stay healthy & Happy!
-Erinn

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

