GFGL FOOD BLOG: Back in Action

Hi guys!

I’m sorry for my recent absence from the blog, between graduation, a little vacation 😉 and work, I’m just beginning to get back into the swing of the normal routine. This includes my diet! Graduation was filled with fancy dinners and way too much bread and visiting friends in California sure didn’t help shrink the waistline.

All that said, I am beginning to get back on the healthy track, thank the lord. Last night I had a conversation with my friend, over ice cream, where we were talking about dieting and lifestyle habits. She had a lot of interesting things to say but mainly she stressed the idea of balanced eating as a way to not only feel good, but look good as well. I couldn’t agree more! If you deprive yourself constantly of everything you used to eat, it’s never going to work. I know you’ve probably read this twenty million times in health magazines, “It’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle”. Annoying as the phrase may be, it’s completely true. If you’re following a diet, eventually, you’re going to reach the end of it. You’ve lost the weight and now what…

 Losing weight is great, but when you start trying to eat previously forbidden foods again, all mayhem is going to break loose. You’re going to blow up like a balloon (well maybe not literally, but you’ll be headed back down that path you worked so hard to run away from).

So quite giving yourself a headache, counting calories and considering cheese or carbs the ultimate enemy. For the love of god, eat what you want to eat, when you want to eat it. BUT don’t go overboard. Have the ice cream, but order a kiddie cone. Have the cheese but then don’t have it for the rest of the day. Eat the bread on your burger, but only have half of it. There are ways around things. Most importantly, ready for this?

STOP EATING WHEN YOU’RE SATISFIED, NOT FULL.

Ok that sums up my advice for today, but here is what I’ve had so far.

I woke up late so I didn’t get to have breakfast, just wasn’t in the mood. Instead, I had a midmorning snack of Trader Joes melba toast with their Spinach and Kale Greek Yogurt dip. If you haven’t tried this dip yet, get off the couch and RUN to Trader Joes now. It’s divine, and really healthy.

Lunch: I had a salad for lunch made with some spring mix, carrots, red peppers and almonds. I used Maple Grove Farms of Vermont dressing (FF Honey Dijon)

 

 

Ok, off to get some stuff done around the apartment before work later. With this heat, an iced coffee is long overdue so I’ll have to get one on my way to work.

Stay healthy & happy

-Erinn

 

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

