Pop As You Please

By: JESSICA WESSON

Edited by: CHRISTINA COLAVECCHIA

If I told you that popcorn has the same amount of antioxidants as fruit and vegetables would you believe me? Well, believe it or not, this highly favored snack contains just as many (or in some cases more) antioxidants than fruits and vegetables! It also has cancer-fighting compounds called polyphenols and is a good source of fiber. Who knew that my favorite snack was also healthy?

To make things clear, I am not talking about the butter and oil-drenched popcorn that you see at the movie theatre. I am talking about air-popped-popcorn, popped sans oil. This way it is only 30 calories per cup, which you can’t beat when it comes to snacks. My absolute favorite contraption is the Nordic Ware Popcorn Popper. All you have to do is place popcorn kernels in this bowl, place the lid on, and put it in the microwave on high for 3 minutes. You can season lightly with salt or a pinch of cinnamon and sugar if you like your popcorn sweet. I promise you, after you pop your own popcorn you will never want to eat movie theatre popcorn or the microwavable bags ever again.

“I have found that air-popped popcorn is a great snack for me when I get hungry late at night because it is light, yet has fiber so it keeps me satisfied but not overstuffed and I wont feel it in the morning,” says Allie Friedlander, a Division 1 rowing athlete. Popcorn is not a snack that will ruin your diet but it is important to consume it in moderation as you would with any other snack. Get popping!

Photo Source

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Home, Sections, Your Lifestyle, Your Nutrition

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

