GFGL RECIPE BLOG: It’s Still Yogurt for Breakfast

By: ALEXIS BLANDINE

As the greek yogurt boom goes into full swing, I decided to jump on the bandwagon and try making a recipe with it aside from topping it with granola and fruit. I went to chobani.com, referred by a friend to look up their pancake recipe, and boy am I glad I did. I will be honest and tell that I have a flaw, admitting is the first step to recovery, right? Well, my flaw is that I would not say I am taking home the award for best pancake maker. For some reason, the batter always ends up coming out too loose, and then when I try to get creative and add ingredients like chocolate chips, the pancakes hit the fan, so to speak. After trying this recipe though… well I am trying to be modest when I say I may just be perfect now, because these pancakes were amazing.



Chobani’s “Perfect Pancakes”

  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 C  Vanilla 0% Chobani Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 C milk
  • Vegetable oil cooking spray
  • Maple syrup and mixed berries

Combine all wet and dry ingredients separately, then mix together and portion out pancakes with ¼ c measures. Flip once golden brown and bubbles start to form on one side.
(credit for recipe: http://www.chobanikitchen.com/recipes/detail/perfect-pancakes)

I exchanged the Chobani for a generic Greek yogurt, and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I added a splash more milk than was called for, because the batter seemed too thick to get off the spoon, but that’s subject to every pancake maker. I also considered adding cinnamon or cocoa powder, but decided against it to have a greater variety of topping options. I made some pancakes with chopped frozen strawberries, chopped walnuts, and chocolate chips (a given). I liked this recipe because the batter was thicker from the yogurt, so it was a thicker cake, almost like a donut. I do suggest if you add mystery ingredients, you put a little more batter over before flipping so the ingredients don’t stick to the pan (think like you’re putting them to the center of the cake). This recipe has opened my eyes and made me want to expand my horizons on how to use Greek yogurt, I may even be daring and try it in something other than a breakfast dish!

Sealed with a kiss of Nutella,

Alexis

Tags: ,

Categories: GFGL Recipe Blog, Home, Sections, Your Nutrition

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “GFGL RECIPE BLOG: It’s Still Yogurt for Breakfast”

  1. yogurtBLD
    October 8, 2012 at 3:45 am #

    Thought I’d pass this on – just reading this helps me to think of even more uses!
    http://www.fageusa.com/recipes/

Leave a comment!

