How To Spend Less Time in the Gym

By: JESSICA WESSON

Edited by: CHRISTINA COLAVECCHIA

As most people who exercise regularly know, it is very simple to get stuck in your comfortable workout routine.  While this may be ok for people who are not trying to change their body, it is not effective for those who are trying to shed some pounds.  For those who are trying to kick up their workouts, high intensity training is a great option to look at.  The good news for this type of training is that you are not necessarily going to have to spend more time in the gym; however, you are going to have to increase your intensity.  “The bottom line is that you reach maximum health and conditioning in a short period of time,” says Denise Goldman, a fitness expert.

I just recently incorporated high intensity training into my workout routine and I couldn’t be more satisfied with the way I look and feel. At first I was hesitant to put this short-burst workout ahead of my daily 6 mile run because I thought that I wouldn’t get the same benefits.  After trying an interval workout that was suited to my fitness level, I will never go back to daily 6 mile pavement pounding runs again.

As stated above, this type of training takes less of your time but it requires more intensity.  “HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) increases the amount of calories you burn during your exercise session and afterward because it increases the length of time it takes your body to recover from each exercise session,” says Dean Anderson, a fitness and behavior expert.  It is also known to be a great fat burning workout because it causes metabolic adaptations.  As far as I’m concerned, this type of training is a win-win situation.

This type of training is exciting because you are constantly challenging your body and you can always increase the amount of time you want to sprint or rest.  After only a week of this type of training I noticed a difference in my stamina.  I have pushed my limits and have surprised  myself with what I am capable of. If you have not already tried this type of training, I suggest you try it now!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Home, Sections, Your Fitness

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

