GFGL FIT BLOG: Change of Locations

I’m not ashamed to admit it, I now live with my parents. Well, I’m a little ashamed. It is just for the summer. And it will be nice to chill out in the country, walk the dog in the fields, get a lot of reading done, have coffee made when I wake up. One thing I didn’t realize would be such a nice change of pace was getting a new/old running route. I now have a 5.3 miles of “country” block to run. This is the route I always ran when just visiting my parents in the past, a nice workout but, in the past, I did it only out of necesity. I did the loop three times yesterday, so about 16 miles, with a few with a doggy in tow. I did get rained on for about five minutes and had to deal with some pretty strong prairie-style winds, but, all in all, it turned out to be a really great route for doing a long distance. I only have two weeks left until the marathon and I’m getting into the tapering part of my training, which is a little scary.

According to runningabout.com, for a marathon distance (26.2 miles) tapering is usually suppossed to begin about three weeks before the race with your last long run. After that its recommende to do about 80 percent of your previous distances. Most people have a hard time doing this because it feels counterintuitive to do less just before an event, but tapering has some really important benefits. Less is more. Running less reduces your risk of injury, gives you time to rest and recover, and allows your muscles to store carbohydrates in preparation.

Around two weeks (where I am!) it’s recommended to do a little more than 50 percent of your previous distance.  It’s not unusal to feel new aches during this time- just the muscles repairing themselves they say. Your also supposed to get at least eight hours of sleep a night and to cut down on strength training. Both of those sound pretty great. They also say you can get a deep tissue massage up to a week before the race. Massages, sleep, no strength training? So far I think I like this week the best out of all the training. I think I’ll be looking forward to a nice, relaxed country vacation for the next two weeks!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

