GFGL RACE REVIEWS: Race for the Cure

By: LINDSEY MURRAY

Two years ago I had an amazing experience to participate in a 5K run that gave me so much more than the runner’ s high that comes with the completion of a race. That Mother’s Day I woke up at 5 a.m., not to cook my mom a fancy breakfast, but in order to give myself enough time to be able to have a energy packed breakfast and fully stretch myself out. Around 7 a.m. I left my house, fully decked out in pick attire, to participate in my first ever Race for The Cure 5K.

For those of you that do not know Race for The Cure is sponsored by the Susan G. Komen Foundation in order to raise awareness and money for breast cancer. When I arrived at the race site, in the middle of Fairmount Park in Philadelphia, I was immediately engulfed in a sea of pink, the color that Susan G. Komen denoted as the Breast Cancer awareness color. People were not shy about showing off their pink spirit either. Runners were lined up at the starting line wearing everything from pink boas and to pink Speedos!

Finally it was time for the race to start! As I looked around I realized that this was not my typical race. Sure, there were those in full running gear stretching and getting hyped up at the starting line, but there were also many families that included breast cancer survivors calmly talking and laughing together, showing no sign that they were about to run a 5K. When the horn blew, I felt an immediate sense of support from everyone around me that lasted the entire course of the race. People were chanting encouraging words, encouraging everyone around them to keep pushing forward.

I’ve ran many competitive races in the last couple of years, but I never felt more accomplished than when I crossed the Race for The Cure finish line. I had not only completed a race, but also made a difference in so many breast cancer patients and survivors’ lives that day. Post-race was a huge party where everyone celebrated the amount of awareness and money that was raised. I was able to talk to many people who were affected by breast cancer and how the Race for The Cure has directly affected them. I even got a chance to run the Rocky Stairs at the Philadelphia Art Museum with a woman in her mid-fifties who was a breast cancer survivor. That was one of the coolest moments of my life and I’ll be sure to remember it forever.

This is no ordinary 5K race. The sense of accomplishment you will find afterwards is incredible and I encourage everyone to participate at some point in his or her life! I definitely plan to participate in Race for The Cure again and I am planning on participating in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk in the next couple of years. For more information about this and other races that support breast cancer and how you can get involved visit their website.

Photo Source

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: GFGL Race Review, Home, Sections, Your Fitness

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

