GFGL RECIPE BLOG: Chocolate Garbanzo Bean Cupcakes

By: ALEXIS BLANDINE

Who says gluten-free means no more cupcakes?


I am by no means gluten-free, but if that was what it took to eat these cupcakes, I just might consider it. I know, you’re thinking chickpeas and cupcakes should not go in the same breath, let alone the same recipe. I’m here to tell you that you need to throw those thoughts out the window, let the wind in your sails, do whatever you have to do to get over that and try these cupcakes. I’ll admit, when I first heard the ingredient list, I was quite hesitant. My classmates made them in my cooking food lab, and in my head I thought to myself, “I’m gonna make sure to pass over those in the taste test”.

But alas, I was fooled with trickery once the confectioners sugar made its debut into the equation. My inner fat kid took over and I had to try one; I can honestly say this was one of the few times that my fat girl problems turned to more than a taste of regret. These cupcakes were among the most moist, and chocolatey that I’ve every tasted. The warm center floated into your mouth for this wonderful swirl-like sensation that I can only compare to spinning around in a field of daisies. The confectioners sugar added enough sweetness to take the place of fattening frosting, and you wouldn’t be able to tell that there were garbanzo beans in there unless you went creeping through the chef’s trash can. I joke that I could take them to a party, have all my friends try them, and then spring on them that they’re healthy! I’m a mad woman at heart, the thought of it makes me want to wring my hands together while maniacally throwing my head back and cackling. Being a dietetics major, I always joke that my biggest thrill is showing someone that eating healthier can still taste just as good, without making you feel half as bad.


Some things to note while making these: The semi-sweet chocolate chips can be easily swapped with a portion of dark/milk chocolate, in place of the semi-sweet, but keep a little for the sweetness of the cakes. Another thing to note, once taken from the oven, these cupcakes sink a little in the center, somewhat like a souffle. Do not fear, you have ruined nothing but your views on chickpeas and chocolate.


Now, quit reading this, run out to the store, grab yourself some chickpeas, and get baking!

Chocolate Garbanzo Bean Cupcakes (makes ~18 muffins)

2C cooked garbanzo beans
2 eggs
1/2 C Egg substitute
1C Sugar
1 T baking powder
1 1/2 C Semi-sweet chocolate chips
1. preheat oven to 350 F and fill muffin tins with liners
2. Melt chocolate chips in microwave in increments of 30 s.
3. Puree beans in food processor until very smooth. NO LUMPS.
4. Add eggs, sugar, baking powder, and chocolate to puree and pulse a few times to combine ingredients well.
5. Fill each tin with 1/4 c measure.
6. Bake on center rack for 20-25 minutes, or until tooth, pick comes out clean from the center.
7. Let cool and sprinkle with confectioners sugar.


I am a lover of all things food related, I could talk about it all day… Being so, any comments or experiences about these lovely little clouds of chocolate are MORE THAN WELCOME!


Sealed with a kiss of nutella,

Alexis

Tags:

Categories: GFGL Recipe Blog

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “GFGL RECIPE BLOG: Chocolate Garbanzo Bean Cupcakes”

  1. May 29, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Looks awesome! I would so love to try some. I bet they taste sensational!

Leave a comment!

