GFGL FIT BLOG: Those Who Make It Happen

I’m coming up on the beginning of my taper for my training! Tapering is an idea I’ve always been very curious about. Tapering is, from what I understand, when you lessen the intensity of your workouts leading up to an event.  I know there is some kind of exercise science behind it and I plan to do some actual research about it soon. I continue to run, 8 miles on Tuesday, 4 yesterday and today and a long run of as-yet-to-be-determined distance tomorrow.

I do want to take a moment and address just how much work goes into planning a race like the one I’m currently training for (marathon distance). The number of volunteers and the time they donate for whatever the cause may be is a real eye opener. Many of these people have friends or family racing, but just as many don’t. They are there for a cause, whatever it may be. Food, water, setup, breakdown, posting mile markers, manning aid stations… the list is staggering. There are thousands of these events all across the country- from the Boston Marathon to the Hambuger Run in my hometown. As much as we praise or admire the people who are able to run and train for these events, we should remember the people who stage them for good causes just as much. That kind of passion and organization is hard to come by and I can hardly plan out a decent outfit or dinner.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

