GFGL FIT BLOG: 20-Mile Run and Recovery

Still feeling massivly stressed-out about alot of things but at least training is going well. I saw the post below this morning and it put me in a good/better place so enjoy…

http://blog.freepeople.com/2012/05/yoga-relax-mind/

I got in my long run on Sunday-only 20 miles of the intended 22 but I’ll forgive myself for the last two since it started raining. I then went to a work-based cookout at a park and almost passed out from drinking a diet Coke too fast. I dont know why that happened. I would guess I was dehydrated, but I had just downed a Powerade and a bunch of water and was very prepared to eat a lot of grilled tofu and veggies. I think Im going to blame the caffeine.

I’ve been trying to find a good recovery drink/snack for after those really tough workouts. Right now it usually involves drinking a huge gas station mocha (which is just coffee and a little hot chocolate and something people I know that work in coffee shops would hate me for), bananas and about a half cup of peanut butter. I can kill a jar of Skippy in about three days if Im not stopped. But I did make chia seed pudding that is a great pump up for a pre-run snack. It is just chia seeds, almond milk and maple syrup. Let it sit for a few hours so the seeds get all gelatinous and tapioca-like. I got the idea from a great vegan, raw restaurant in the next town over which also has the best wheatgrass shots I’ve ever had. (Im half-way positive it is the only vegan, raw restaurant in Wisconsin, but Im not 100 percent sure.) The texture would probably throw most people off, but if you can get past that it has an awesome jolt of energy.

Photo Source

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

