GFGL FOOD BLOG: How to Battle a Cold

For the past week or so, I’ve been trying to get over a nasty cold. Between the stress and late nights of finals and working with little kids, I’m not surprised that my immune system was down and I woke up with a stuffy nose and terrible cough. What has been challenging though, is getting over it, all while keeping up with friends, work, senior week and last but definitely not least, graduation. You get sick when you’re too busy to be sick, isn’t that how it always goes?

I’ve learned, especially with my busy schedule, that it’s extremely important to take care of you first. The world won’t end if you have to cancel that coffee date or take a day off from work to rest, trust me. No one wants to be around the sick person! Not only will you be helping yourself, but you’ll be saving the people around you from catching whatever it is you have. Be Honest. If things are too much, take a step back and relax. It’s crucial that you take the time to put yourself first.

Also, drink drink drink. And no, I don’t mean indulge in the three cocktails that your friends are begging you to meet them for at happy hour after work. When you’re sick, you’re probably dehydrated, even if you’re not thirsty. It’s crucial that you pump your body with fluids. I’m a fan of Gatorade, G2, as a way to keep the sugar down while still replenishing your body with electrolytes. Vitamin C is also very important, so have some orange juice when you wake up along with a glass of water. Drink water before you eat each meal, that way you won’t forget. If you’re stuck in bed, keep a bottle next to the tissue box so you won’t use the long walk to the fridge as an excuse not to drink up.

Aside from the vitamin C in orange juice and other natural places, I also like to take vitamin C gummies if I feel a cold coming on as a way to boost my immune system and hopefully prevent the worst of the storm from hitting. You can pick them up at any grocery store or pharmacy. Also, if you don’t take a multivitamin in the morning, look into one that might suit you! I swear by them, especially ones that include B vitamins. I always feel more energized when I’m taking them regularly.

As for dieting while sick, don’t be too hard on yourself. You may not have an appetite at all, or maybe you just feel like some macaroni and cheese like I did, I promise that a few days out of commission won’t make or break it for you. Focus on feeling better physically and don’t think too much about sticking to a specific regimen. Let yourself feel. What does your body need? What do you need?

Remember, in a few days you’ll feel better and can return to your regular routine. Don’t let yourself get caught up in the details, just relax and heal. Take time and make sure you feel 100 percent before returning to the brutal gym sessions or any other strenuous activity. As frustrating as it is, and trust me I know how inconvenient and infuriating it can be to be sick, your main focus should be on rest and recovery.

Stay healthy and happy

-Erinn

Photo Source

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

