GFGL FOOD BLOG: Cruise Control & Navigating the Dukan Diet

I am currently in the “cruise” phase of the Dukan diet. In this phase, you alternate between days of pure proteins (plus 2 tablespoons of oat bran a day and unlimited fat free yogurt), with days of proteins and vegetables. I have to admit, it was tough at first, but I now love my new diet!

For the first time in a while, I can proudly tell you that I no longer shop in the middle sections of the grocery store where all of the junk food resides. Removing processed foods from my diet has done so much for my mood, energy level, and overall wellbeing. I eat foods that I never would have before, like the whites of hard-boiled eggs and fresh asparagus. Also, eating yogurt daily has been huge for me. I was never a huge fan of yogurt, but have found that I love the Dannon Light and Fit (0% fat) brand, especially the caramel delight flavor. Mixing the oat bran, which is an awesome source of fiber, into the yogurt kills two birds with one stone and has become an easy breakfast and/or decadent dessert.

I know that there are a lot of skeptics out there of low-carb diets, and I’ll be the first to admit that I have usually been one of them, but after seeing how satisfied my mom was with this diet, I figured it was worth a try. I’m really glad I did decide to make these changes in my diet. Going to the grocery store for fresh produce rather than 100 calorie packs of cookies is so much more fulfilling and I’m honestly proud of myself.

People always say that there are no such things as diets, it’s all about lifestyle changes and I think that this “diet” fits into that category, but because it consists of phases, there are changes along the way rather than eating the same way everyday for the rest of your life. For example, I will continue on the cruise phase until I get to my desired weight and after that I will enter the “consolidation” phase where more variety and food options will come into play.

If there is one piece of advice that you take away from this entry, I hope that next time you head to go grocery shopping, you avoid the middle aisles. I know it sounds impossible, but trust me and give it a shot. Avoid purchasing foods that come in packaging, for one week, and see how you feel. I think you’ll be happy with how you feel and how your clothes fit as well.

Stay happy and healthy

-Erinn

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “GFGL FOOD BLOG: Cruise Control & Navigating the Dukan Diet”

  1. April 20, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog
    site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear
    idea

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unhealthful foods kill more Americans every year than tobacco « VIP Diet Club - June 5, 2012

    […] GFGL FOOD BLOG: Cruise Control & Navigating the Dukan Diet. fresh-produce. I am currently in the “cruise” phase of the Dukan diet. In this phase, you …getfitgetlife.org/…/gfgl-food-blog-cruise-control-navigating-th… […]

Leave a comment!

