GFGL FOOD BLOG: Dukan Diet Round Two

In one of my first posts on this blog, I mentioned that my mom has been doing and loving the Dukan Diet, created by French doctor Pierre Dukan, and although I tried in January, I completely failed. I found it very restrictive and gave in to my cravings for sweets a tiny bit early in the diet, and by early I mean may mean a matter of a few hours. I quickly labeled the diet as Dukcan’t. Willpower has always been on the list of things I’d like to work on about myself. It wasn’t that the diet was restrictive, but it cut out processed food and processed food has always been my go-to for snacks. Despite all of this, I’ve decided to start the diet again now as my college graduation is approaching and I have a bathing suit to fit into for my trip to California Memorial Day weekend.

I am proud to say that I am almost two weeks into the diet and still going strong! I thought maybe I’d explain what the diet is all about on here so you guys can go along with me on my journey and learn more about the Dukan Diet in general.

The diet is split up into four phases: the attack phase, the cruise phase, the consolidation phase and the stabilization phase.

In the attack phase, the duration depends on factors like how much weight you want to lose and your history with dieting. You can find out how long your attack phase would last by clicking here. and also find your true weight and how long it will take you to get there.

In the attack phase you can only consume strictly pure proteins, any fat free yogurt and low fat dairy products, along with a required 1 ½ tbsps. of oat bran each day. In the Dukan Diet book, there is a recipe for a pancake that contains all of the oat bran you need, but I tend to mix it in with my yogurt. There is a list of pure protein foods, like lean beef, seafood options, poultry etc. and while you’re in the attack phase you can eat as much of these foods as you’d like. My attack phase only lasted three days which really isn’t that bad at all especially when there are no calorie limitations.

The second phase, which is where I am now and will be until I lose the amount of weight I want to lose, is the cruise phase. In this phase you alternate days: one day pure protein plus low fat dairy and oat bran and the next day you can add vegetables on top of that. The daily oat bran requirement during this phase is 2 tbsps each day which once again, I add to my yogurt. Another thing that I use on my vegetables days is fat free salad dressings from Maple Groves Farms of Vermont to give my salads more flavor!

Since beginning this diet, I’ve definitely felt better. I’ve noticed I’ve had fewer headaches and have had much more energy. It has been hard to give up processed foods like chips and other snacks, but by cleaning up my diet and only eating fresh foods, I feel much better. My body feels cleaner. The oat bran can expand up to 20 times its volume in your stomach, which keeps you full for quite a while, but only if you drink water throughout the day as well. A huge requirement for this diet is to drink 1.5 liters of water every day.

Learn more about this eating method at the Dukan Diet website. I encourage you all to take a look at it and do some research if you’re interested. I love how much better I feel and going down a pant size is an added bonus!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

