GFGL FIT BLOG: Moonlit Prison Break

After a few very long work days of drinking way too much coffee and getting way too stressed out, I decided I clear my head with a quick night run. I don’t usually run at night because the trail I use is not particularily well lit, but it was a beautiful clear night and it had that kind of cool-after-a-hot-day feel to it. I changed into my gear after work around 8 p.m. and headed out to the trailhead. As I was only doing a quick 5 miles to clear my head, I even left my ipod in the car. I have to say, this turned out to be one of the best runs I’ve ever had in my life. I’ve alwasy used running as a de-stressing tool but for some reason, between the darkness and my excess energy, I felt really great, like I had just made a prison break and the only way to escape was to run in the moonlight down by the river.  It probably had something to do with the solidarity and quiet after having worked for 10 hours straight and having to be nice to people the entire time. But even so, I felt renewed, like I found a whole new world that exsisted outside my usual grind. While I will probably mostly stick to my daytime adventures, it is nice to know that the night is always there and waiting to bring me back to center.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “GFGL FIT BLOG: Moonlit Prison Break”

  1. Kerri
    April 11, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    I love the visual of running in the moonlight by the river! wish i was in shape enough to do that~

Leave a comment!

