GFGL FIT BLOG: Being Sick, Round Two

I, again, got violently ill over the weekend. This time I’m thinking food poisoning. As such, I was unable to run Friday, Saturday or Sunday. While I did get back out Monday and am slowly getting back to normal, I was kind of amazed at how disappointed I was in myself for being ill. I’m sure there was nothing to be done about the whole thing. People get sick and it would be kind of unwise to run on a sour stomach, but I still couldn’t help feeling pretty guilty. Like if I was really healthy I wouldn’t get sick in the first place, which is a crazy way to think. This could just be another sign that I need to take a little better care of myself though, too. Yes, I eat well and I exercise. But I also don’t exactly have a “regular” sleep schedule. Last Saturday I was up till 6 a.m. and then ran 18 miles the next day. While that was fine at the time, I’m sure it took its toll on my body in some way. I currently make my way as a waitress so I also work sporadic hours and can have shifts that last more than nine hours on my feet. While none of these things are all that serious, top it all off with general life stresses, and add in training and it gets to be a full schedule.  It is important to keep in mind that health is not just what you eat or how much you work out. Like the yogis say, it’s a full life circle, mind, body and spirit. Maybe if I keep that in mind I can avoid any further disappointing weekends.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

