GFGL FIT BLOG: Why do I do this? Part 2

So why do I run? When I first started doing this blog I had a whole list of why I thought runners were so cool and why I wanted to be one. That’s why I think I started. But why have I continued to do this and to this extent?

I was talking with a friend the other day about my training and they claimed they would never be able to run for that long because they would get bored. I admit I had the same thing before I got into distance running. I get bored easily in my day-to-day life, but running is a whole different thing. It’s this time when you get to be completely by yourself–putting yourself through something pretty difficult. But for what? Yes, to train for a race, but why do the race? Running seems like a strange thing to consider a hobby, but it takes up pretty much all of my free time. I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t enjoy it or get something out of it. A sense of accomplishment? I really think it’s something other than that. I’m sure there are more productive things I could be doing with my time like applying to grad school, making more money, writing more… Maybe I’m trying to prove something to other people? Maybe I’m trying to prove something to myself? I seriously believe a commitment like this has something to do with having an addictive personality, but that idea sort of degrades the whole thing as a compulsion. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that this sort of training has almost no negatives. I’ve never felt guilty for going for a run. In fact, I usually feel the total opposite. There is almost no time you could tell someone that you just went for a run and they would judge you in a negative way. Aside from shoes, it’s even kind of hard to blow a lot of money running. Maybe in a time in my life when I feel like all my actions and inactions are being scrutinized, I’ve some how stumbled upon something that is almost totally positive. I’m sure everyone that  has trained for a marathon and has had their own reasons for it. I’m sure it varies quite a bit as to why people would put in so much time and effort to something that, to be honest, you pretty much get nothing to show for (except awesome legs and a huge sense of accomplishment). I’ve been trying to remember what I said to people when they first asked me why I would want to run a marathon. I’m pretty sure my answer was all philosophical and something about proving things to myself. I’m sure that still holds true, but, at this point, I know I can and will do this. It somehow just became another aspect of how I live. A new extra thing that I do. It really makes me wonder what else I might be able to get used to, what else could I add that seems like such a big deal now, but that I wouldn’t even notice after a while.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “GFGL FIT BLOG: Why do I do this? Part 2”

  1. Kerri
    April 11, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    I love this article, inspiring~~

Leave a comment!

