GFGL FOOD BLOG: Starbucks Survival Guide

In the past few days, well maybe for a while now, I’ve gone beyond the normal consumption of caffeine. I love iced coffee, I’m from New England, everyone loves iced coffee here so can you really blame me? After heading to Starbucks today with one of my friends, I decided that it would probably be a good idea to give you guys some healthy iced options to order there. Trust me, they’re still delicious, even without the liquid sugar and whole milk.

I’m a fan of the Iced Skinny Mocha and I get one almost every day (always a venti) when I don’t grab an iced coffee at my school’s coffee shop. It’s pure chocolate flavored delight with the punch of espresso, every college kid’s dream.  The venti only contains 140 calories and 1.5g of saturated fat! If you like espresso beverages, they also have skinny versions of their flavored lattes and a skinny caramel macchiato. Both of which have less than 170 calories each!

If you favor frappucinnos, you can request a “light” version that has fewer calories. The java chip frappucinno light is a good one to try and it only has 200 calories and 3g of saturated fat in a grande. If you’re trying to eat a balanced diet with three meals a day and two snacks, it’s perfectly fine to count one of these treats as your snack, just try to keep it under 250 calories. Whatever you do, do not think that calories from drinks don’t count. Always pay attention to everything you’re consuming.

I know that on my college budget coffee runs can really add up fast, so I like getting as much as I can for my money. If I order an iced drink that isn’t blended, I always ask for a little less ice. This way, I get more coffee for my money. I know some people find it hard to speak up and request something like that because they feel bad, but at the end of the day it’s your money and no one is going to speak up for you! I’ve seen a lot worse, trust me! If anything it’s less work for the person scooping the ice.

If you’d like to look at more of the nutritional information behind Starbucks’ drink or food options, you can find them on their website.

Stay happy and healthy

-Erinn

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “GFGL FOOD BLOG: Starbucks Survival Guide”

  1. April 19, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Love this!! These are the kind of posts I try to do on my blog, too! Keep it up! 🙂

    • May 1, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

      Thanks so much 🙂 I just want to share what I follow with other people so they can stay healthy and happy!

Leave a comment!

