GFGL FOOD BLOG: Fake French Fries

Hi all!

My cousin recently shared with me a recipe she had found to make squash french fries! I was a little hesitant to try them at first, but she reassured me that they tasted similar to sweet potato fries and I am a sweet potato sucker. They’re low calorie, low fat and a great source of vitamins A and C. You can find the nutritional info here.

These are so are SO easy to make, perfect for someone like me who’s lacking in the domestic skills department. I encourage you guys to give them a try!

How To:

1. Purchase one of the packaged squash halves that are pre-peeled. They also have packaged cubes of squash, which is a bit easier because squash can be hard to cut into. I may or may not have considered that my arm workout for the day. 😉

2. Spray a pan with some non-stick cooking spray and preheat the oven to 475 degrees.

3. Cut the squash (pre-peeled) into strips, whatever thickness you’d like, and throw them onto the cookie sheet.

4. Sprinkle the squash fries with some salt if you’d like.

5. Cook for 40 minutes or until they brown on the edges, flipping them over at 20 minutes.

6. Enjoy guiltlessly!

Stay happy & healthy

-Erinn

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “GFGL FOOD BLOG: Fake French Fries”

  1. Keely
    March 23, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Delicious! I do believe I deserved a little recognition in encouraging the first try seeing as I did convince you to buy the squash!!!

  2. March 25, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    You’re right, i give all the health-filled credit to my wonderful sister keely boon 🙂

Leave a comment!

