GFGL FIT BLOG: Running Gear and Other Running Stuff

I always find I’m much more open to working out in public when I think my duds are looking spiffy. And since athletic-wear shopping is one of my favorite pastimes I thought I could share some of the best sites I’ve found thus far.

I already bought new shoes and I pretty much only buy Asics, but Nike.com has the very informative and cohesive Gear Up feature for anyone still looking to get outfitted. They have a bra finder, shoe finder, racing stuff, track stuff, trail stuff- a lot of stuff. The shoe finder was the coolest part in my opinion because it takes into account your stride and how hard or soft you prefer your ride. The clothing finders are pretty much just whether or not your male/female and live in warm/cold/windy/wet climates. I’ve heard people give Nike kind of a bad rap in the past for being so advertising-based and lacking some of the technical aspects of other brands but, as far as I can tell, they look pretty good from a running standpoint. I did have some of the Nike Shox a few years back and almost ripped my ankle open running with them, but I think that was probably more my fault than the shoe’s. They did look cool. For more unbiased shoe-finding advice, check out RunningShoesGuru.com. The site is run by former developers and product managers of running footwear from some of the leading sports apparel companies. According to the site…

“Whether you run to get back or to keep in shape, to race short or long distances, to raise money for a cause or just because you like it – choosing the right running shoe can make your running experience a joyful, rewarding one. On the other side, choosing the wrong shoe can introduce you to a whole new galaxy of pain, blisters and injuries.”

“The purpose of this blog is to help both the novice and the experienced runner find their way to the best running shoe for their needs, by reviewing the latest offering from sports companies and giving clear and simple explanations of the characteristics and technologies of the shoes, as well as tips and advice on how to pick the right shoe for you!”

Get in contact with them at runningshoesguru.com.

I know synthetics are the hot thing in workout gear with all their moisture-wicking goodness, but organic and eco-friendly company Gaiam is one of my favorites for athletic clothes. They are mostly yoga based, but I think its all the same basic concept of movement and comfort when it comes to these things. They have a pretty wholesome mission statement, too…

“Gaiam is a provider of information, goods and services to customers who value the environment, a sustainable economy, healthy lifestyles, alternative healthcare and personal development.”

It is ridiculously warm here at the moment. 75 degrees in March is not normal in Wisconsin. I would like a little more winter, but it is definitely nice to be able to get outside for long runs. I had a good 8-mile run today and actually got a little sunburned and sweaty. Everyone around here is so friendly on the trails when it starts to get nice. I almost couldn’t run with headphones because everyone kept saying “hi” and conversing. It almost felt like summertime, which feels like heaven, except for when my awful Nordic blood makes my face super red for hours after any physical activity in the heat. I know this is something I shouldn’t be embarrassed about, but people always seem to bring it up so I don’t know. Hopefully I won’t have to deal with that issue for a few more months.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

