GFGL FOOD BLOG: Just Add Water

Lately, I have been trying to set fitness and nutritional goals for myself and one of them is to drink more water. It’s such a simple thing to do, yet so many of us forget to drink as much as we need. I know that I don’t order a water when I’m out and I usually use it as a last resort if I’m out of everything else in my apartment, but it’s time to make a change!

Water is crucial for the body. It may be one of the easiest goals to tackle and yet I’ve continuously put it off. Drinking enough water works wonders! Not only does it flush toxins and waste out of the body, but it is also great for keeping clear skin. People have told me time and time again that they saw a big difference in their skin when they upped their intake. Another reason to drink more water? It may help keep your weight at bay! Many times when we eat, we are actually thirsty. So before grabbing a snack, grab a bottle and drink up. Wait a while and then see if you are still hungry.

So how much water do we really need on a daily basis? According to the Mayo Clinic, an adequate intake (AI) for men is roughly 3 liters (about 13 cups) of total beverages a day. The AI for women is 2.2 liters (about 9 cups) of total beverages a day. If you’re going to be exercising, the Mayo Clinic recommends that you add 1-2 cups to that.

It may be a challenge to remember how many cups you’ve consumed throughout the day but I’ve heard of a few tricks to keep track. Try wearing nine bracelets (stacking some bangles is always a great look) and each time you drink a glass, switch one bracelet to the other wrist. By the end of the day you’ll have all bracelets on the other arm. If that idea isn’t your style, you can also download a free app on your phone to keep track. There are tons of them out there! Another great way to drink more is to buy one of the bigger bottles of water, I’m a fan of Smart Water myself, and keep refilling it throughout the day. That way you know how many ounces you’re taking in each time you finish it!

I hope that this helps some of you drink more H20. I know that I will be working on it. I mean, something this easy that also makes your skin glow? I can’t believe I haven’t been more disciplined in the past.

Stay happy & healthy

-Erinn

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “GFGL FOOD BLOG: Just Add Water”

  1. Kelsey
    March 9, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Love this! Drinking water was my New Year’s resolution, and it is the best one I ever made! Plus, I have been able to stick to it! I feel healthier and more energized and have also noticed such a change in my complexion. Thanks for the reminder!

    • May 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

      No problem 🙂 I’ve been trying to drink more water as well, it really does make such a difference with dry skin and complexions.

  2. March 25, 2012 at 2:40 am #

    You’re welcome Kelsey, I’ve also been trying to drink more water, I always feel so much better when I do!

Leave a comment!

