GFGL FIT BLOG: Hitting the Wall During Training

I feel like I have a problem. I’ve been doing all my runs and eating like a semi-normal person, but I still fell like my progress is slowing down. I’m having a hard time in my mid-runs mostly (the ones around 5 to 8 miles at the moment). Everything I read says I need to slow down my pace and get used to the distance, but I already run pretty slowly. I am concerned about doing too much too soon, but these are distances I was pretty comfortable with a few months ago. Hitting a wall training-wise is no fun at all.  I really hope that’s not my case and that I’m just not sleeping enough or not drinking enough water. Maybe it’s the mid-winter blahs or maybe I’m not eating the right combo of carbs/protein.

Mid-run “hitting the wall” is apparently called bonking. I don’t know why it’s called bonking, but it is. It’s a kind of sedition and collapse of the entire system; body, form, brains and soul. It’s like your legs stop responding to your brain’s signals. I don’t think this is really my issue, but I’m still not hitting all cylinders at the moment.

I also just had a triple soy latte so I may be panicking and projecting worry where it’s not due. This stuff isn’t supposed to be easy. I’m going to focus on sleeping and not staying up till 2 a.m. every night and see if that doesn’t cure some of the worry. I think the first order of business for that is to stop with the triple lattes…

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “GFGL FIT BLOG: Hitting the Wall During Training”

  1. February 29, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    I’m in the middle of week 9 of my marathon training (16 weeks total) and, while all my runs are going fine, my energy levels when I’m not working out seem to have decreased drastically. I think that I’m officially over training and just want to run the darn thing. 1 more month and then I’m in taper town, thankfully this week is also a step-back week so hopefully that’ll get me through the next 4 weeks!
    Here’s hoping that we both get past our walls (and don’t hit THE wall when our races are upon us).

  2. March 26, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Good luck to you! Just pushing through and having really bad short term memory is the only way Im getting through some of my longer runs:)

Leave a comment!

