GFGL TRAVEL FIT BLOG: Discreet Airport Exercises

I have missed one out of the many flights I have taken. Since then, I arrive to the airport well before I need to in the event that something may go wrong when checking-in or while in security.

When departing for Spain, I arrived at the airport three hours early expecting long lines for an international flight. Nope, not a single one. I was at my gate within ten minutes.

So what was I to do with my extra 2 hours and 50 minutes (or 2 hours and 20 minutes with boarding)? Work out, or course! But I did not want to start doing squats at my gate, or jumping jacks and look crazy! Basically, I wanted the most discreet workout as possible.

In the last month and a half, I have taken seven flights. That would be a lot of wasted time in the airport and in an airplane if I did not put it to good use, right?

So here is what I did, and my travel buddies have yet to say a single word to me about it. But when we were getting ready for a night out, they wanted to know how I have stayed so fit while in Spain.

Discreet Airport Exercises:

Lower Body:

  • Calf Raises
  • Standing up leg lifts: Lift legs forward and then lift legs to the side.
  • Sitting down leg lifts with your carry on bag as a weight.
  • Dead lift with your carry on bag in your hands.
Arms:
  • Bicep Curls with your carry on bag.
  • Arm pulses: lift arms up so they are parallel with the ground. Pulse. To make it harder, hold your carry on bag.
Core:
  • Sitting down leg lifts with your carry on as a weight.
  • Ab workout: Sit in a chair and left your knees to your chest and slowly lower them.
Cardio:
  • Use the stairs. And then use them again, and again, and again.
  • Walk around carrying your bags (and maybe other’s as well).
(More to come! You don’t want to be too sore if you plan on sightseeing the entire next day!)
Make sure you stretch before boarding the plane to avoid cramps! Some of these exercises can be taken on the plane as well.


Quick Note: Check out AirportGyms.com for more information about the closest gyms to your airport. Most of them are outside security, but some are inside!


Have a great flight!

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

