GFGL FIT BLOG: Getting Back to the Grind

After almost a week off from running (and not eating anything of substance for about the same amount of time) I’m finally getting back into my workout routine. I ran three miles today and, aside from not being able to breathe through my nose, and I felt much better for it. While I may not be back to 100 percent physically, I am trying to be on top of my game nutrition wise. I’ve been in love with energy bars for years, specifically Clif Bars. I spent almost two weeks one summer a few years ago eating nothing but Clif Bars and apples (kind of because I was broke and kind of because I was lazy). While they are simple and tasty and really helpful when your active, they also add up price wise pretty quickly. I was pumped to find an ultra easy recipe for homemade energy bars at Adventure Journal.

The recipe was really easy to follow and I didn’t even have to turn on the oven. I did, however, burn brown sugar in one of my roommates cooking pans so I guess I wasn’t a total success. I’m assuming this is about the same recipe for anyone who’s a hippie and has tried to make granola at home, but they turned out delicious and nutritious if not a little home-made-y looking.

Check out the recipe!

Also, check out the rest of Adventure Journal because it’s a great site for the outdoorsy sorts of folk.

In other nutrition news, I’ve made a vow to stop drinking all coffee and to cut out alcohol (except for wine because that doesn’t count), Both of these are little changes, but I think they will have a big impact on my training in the places I’m lacking.

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

