GFGL FIT BLOG: Sick Days During Training

I get sick about once a year with a really nasty cold and 2012 seems to be no exception. Even with insane amounts of Emergen-C and boxes of oranges, I’ve been laid up for a few days now and haven’t been able to run for just as long. I know rest is the most important thing at times like this (rest and a HBO series on DVD), but I still can’t help but feel guilty for passing up miles just cause I feel icky. All the sources I’ve found say that, when you need to take some time off from a training program from either illness or injury,  it’s best to just forget about the missed days and resume when you’re back to 100 percent. It’s comforting advice, but I still don’t like setbacks. Then again, there is nothing that will make you feel quite as good about being able to wake up in the morning and go for a run as not being able to for awhile. At least I’ll be well rested? I’m also taking time out of my Nyquil haze to map out a better nutrition plan so maybe some time off will be a good thing.

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

