GFGL TRAVEL FIT BLOG: Kristi’s Half-Marathon Training Abroad

Hello! Welcome to my GFGL blog!

First, I want to introduce myself. My name is Kristi and I love to run! Just kidding, I don’t love it that much to where it needs to be in that sentence. But, I do love feeling fit and healthy. I’m currently studying in Spain and plan to run a half-marathon in Prague on March 31. I figure it will be a great way to tour the city and maintain my healthy lifestyle abroad. I have only run a 5K, so this will be a test. I consistently work out, but I have never run a distance more than 8 miles.

So, here is my 3 month, half-marathon training plan:

I want to explain the plan so you can completely understand.

Stretch/strength: You’ll want to stretch after every workout, but spend more time stretching on these days. Strength training can consist of weights, various machines or body weight workouts. I will post more about strength training later, but runners generally lift light weights with high reps.

Mile/Sprints: Run a few miles to get warmed up. Sprints increase cardiac strength.

Short distance: These days act as almost a rest day as well. Short runs help get rid of any lactic acid building up from lifts or longer runs. They are comfortable and controlled.

Short distance/Strength: Run a few miles to get warmed up. Strength training can consist of weights, various machines or body weight workouts. I will post more about strength training later, but runners generally lift light weights with high reps

Rest: Give your muscles a break to prevent injury.

Longer Distance: They are designed to enhance endurance, which enables you to run longer and feel strong doing it. As you increase your weekly mileage, you’ll increase your endurance.

Shorter Distance: These days act as almost a rest day as well. Short runs help get rid of any lactic acid building up from lifts or longer runs. They are comfortable and controlled.

You can alter this schedule depending on your own personal schedule. Don’t be afraid to cross train either: bike sprints, yoga, etc. I will post more tips and workouts later!

Notes:

*Don’t over do it!

*Drink a lot of water to stay hydrated!

*Consult your doctor before you begin any training!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

