GFGL FIT BLOG: Arya’s Marathon Training

Musings on an unproductive(health-wise) weekend.

I had to have a little bit of recovery in the beginning of the week from a weekend spent skiing and sampling some lovely Midwestern brews. Also, some emotional recovery after a playoffs loss and whole Sunday of eating nothing but beer and fries. After this past weekend I’m finally realizing just how much I may need to change some of my bad habits in order to be a serious runner. But it’s doable! No more football so I can stay focused! We can start fresh and renewed every day!

I skipped yoga AND spin class Monday in exchange for sleeping, but got back in the saddle Tuesday, Wednesday and today with more treadmill time. I can already feel my endurance getting better from being on a semi-regular sleep-eat-work-run schedule.

It is violently cold here so, like everyone else, I’m forcing myself out of bed in the dark and cold to stay active and on track. In the spirit of staying out of the January ickys I signed up for my race. From their site…

Grandma’s Marathon is a point-to-point course run along the beautiful north shore of Lake Superior. The 26.2-mile stretch begins on scenic Old Highway 61, just outside Two Harbors, Minnesota and finishes in Duluth’s Canal Park. Enthusiastic volunteers, spectators and live entertainers line the streets to cheer runners on as they stride to the finish line.

Awesome! Just imagining Minnesota in June and a cool lake breeze is putting a kick in my step. http://grandmasmarathon.com/site/ They also allow headphones, which are a prerequisite for me since music is not only a huge part of my workout routine, but I also obsessively buy things from iTunes and need an excuse to get new stuff. I think running is just an excuse for me to be alone with my thoughts and old bluegrass music (which is great to get pumped to, by the way, never underestimate the energy of a banjo). 9 miles on Sunday! Get ready!

Tags: ,

Categories: Home

Subscribe to Get Fit Get Life for the latest health news!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

